2008 Comrades Marathon results

Posted on Jun 15, 2008 under Comrades Marathon | No Comment

Leonid Shvetsov raced into the Comrades Marathon record books this morning after a second successive victory in the world’s most important ultramarathon road race. The tall Russian smashed Vladimir Kotov’s eight-year-old ”up” run record by 47 seconds, coming home in 5:24:46 and beating second-placed Jaroslav Janicki by an incredible 13:41, one of the largest victory margins in recent Comrades history. This means that Shvetsov becomes the first man since Bruce Fordyce to win in both directions and to own both records.

Top 10 Men

Pos Name RaceNo Country Time
1 Leonid Shvetsov 49670 Russian 05:24:47
2 Jaroslaw Janicki 4889 Poland 05:38:29
3 Stephen Muzhingi 55925 Zimbabwe 05:39:40
4 Oleg Kharitonov 49673 Russian 05:42:03
5 Grigory Murzin 39356 Russian 05:43:07
6 Harmans Mokgadi 47411 South Africa 05:47:10
7 Mncedisi Mkhize 27026 South Africa 05:48:18
8 Vladimir Kotov 39358 South Africa 05:48:42
9 Johan Oosthuizen 37904 South Africa 05:50:52
10 Willie Mtolo 1119 South Africa 05:53:36

After the race, Shvetsov said that his race plan had gone perfectly, but that the record had never been certain. ”Last year I knew from a long way out that the record was in the bag, but this time it was touch and go.” He takes home R220 000 for the win and R250 000 for the new record.

Janicki continued with his fine Comrades record after his second place finish. The quiet Pole now has 5 gold medals in his cupboard, including a single win, back in 1999.

Zimbabwean Stephen Muzhuingi was third, with the prize for the first South African going to Harmans Mokgadi of Nedbank, winner of the Forever Resorts Loskop Marathon earlier this year. Mokgadi was 6th. Two sentimental favourites scored gold medals as well. 50-year-old Vladimir Kotov, who saw his course record evaporate while he was still out on the road, received some consolation with his 8th place, while Willie Mtolo, who finished 2nd way back in 1989, grabbed the final gold medal, much to the delight of the local Comrades fans.

Top 10 Women

Pos Name RaceNo Country Time
1 Elena Nurgalieva 19987 Russian 06:14:37
2 Olesya Nurgalieva 19988 Russian 06:15:52
3 Tatyana Zhirkova 19986 Russian 06:17:45
4 Marina Myshlyanova 56699 Russian 06:30:49
5 Marina Bychkova 39390 Russian 06:38:01
6 Riana Van Niekerk 50678 South Africa 06:43:31
7 Maria Bak 4104 Germany 06:53:32
8 Farwa Mentoor 25609 South Africa 06:59:40
9 Lesley Train 47434 South Africa 07:02:08
10 Carol Mercer 34204 South Africa 07:09:37

The Russian juggernaul continued in the women’s race. Once again the Nurgalieva twins dominated, with Elena collecting her third straight ”up” run victory. But this time it was not a record, with the finishing time of 6:14:36 being some 5 minutes outside the mark she herself set up two years ago. Twin sister Olesya came home 1:15 behind, while Tatyana Zhirkova grabbed 3rd spot in 6:17:44.

Marina Myshlyanova (6:30:48) and Marina Bychkova (6:38:00) compled the Russian domination of the women’s competition. This was Bychkova’s 8th gold medal in the race.

Top South African home was Pretoria’s Riana van Niekerk (6:43:30), who ended Farwa Mentoor’s long domination of this category. Mentoor was 8th in 6:59:39, while the ageless Maria Bak once again collected gold in 6:53:31 (7th).

11,192: total number of entries; 8,613: total number of finishers

Leave a Reply