Comrades Marathon 2009 results

Posted on May 24, 2009 under Comrades Marathon | 3 Comments

33 year-old Stephen Muzhingi from Zimbabwe won the 2009 Comrades Marathon in time of 5:23:27. Second place Leonid Shvetsov of Russia in 5:33:10 and third place Charles Tjiane in 5:34:21. Stephen Muzhingi reached 3rd place in last years 2008 Comrades.

Muzhingi said he realised he could tell he was in stronger shape when he passed defending champion and record holder, Leonid Shvetsov, and knew then that he could win.

“Coming into the race, my only aim was to run sub 5:30. When I was about 100 metres behind Leonid, I started to relax but when I caught him, I knew I had the race.”

Muzhingi said he hadn’t thought about the 5:20:41 record, set by Shvetsov in 2007, but about three kilometres from the finish, spectators told him he had a chance to go for it, so he ran faster. However, by then it was too late but his time of 5:23:27 is the second best time ever for a Comrades Marathon!

Olesya Nurgalieva won the 2009 women’s Comrades Marathon in 6:12.12. Her twin sister, Elena Nurgalieva, who finished first in 2008, came second in 6:13.14 followed by another Russian, Tatyana Zhirkova in 6:15:03.

Pos Name RaceNo Country Gender Time
1 Stephen Muzhingi 55925 Zimbabwe Male 05:23:27
2 Leonid Shvetsov 49670 Russia Male 05:33:10
3 Charles Tjiane 56834 South Africa Male 05:34:21
4 Fusi Nhlapo 14084 South Africa Male 05:36:17
5 Lucas Nonyana 52634 South Africa Male 05:39:29
6 Mncedisi Mkhize 27026 South Africa Male 05:41:14
7 Bongmusa Mthembu 31020 South Africa Male 05:41:52
8 Peter Molapo 32757 South Africa Male 05:42:25
9 BethuelNetshifhefhe 28689 South Africa Male 05:43:35
10 Harmans Mokgadi 47411 South Africa Male 05:44:49
Pos Name RaceNo Country Gender Time
1 Olesya Nurgalieva 19988 Russia Female 06:12:12
2 Elena Nurgalieva 19987 Russia Female 06:13:14
3 Tatyana Zhirkova 19986 Russia Female 06:15:03
4 Marina Myshlyanova 56699 Russia Female 06:30:42
5 Farwa Mentoor 25609 South Africa Female 06:45:33
6 Lesley Train 47434 South Africa Female 07:01:07
7 Marina Bychkova 39390 Russia Female 07:03:24
8 Lindsay Van Aswegen 11096 South Africa Female 07:08:55
9 Belinda Waghorn 39498 South Africa Female 07:09:36
10 Kashmira Parbhoo 20171 South Africa Female 07:16:13

Congratulations to all finishers from!

Stephen Muzhingi wins Comrades Marathon 2009 in 5:23:27!

Posted on May 24, 2009 under Comrades Marathon | 3 Comments

Stephen Muzhingi33 year-old Zimbabwean Stephen Muzhingi won this years Comrades Marathon from Pietermaritzburg to Durban, in 5:23:27, the second fastest time in history today.

Second place goes to last years Comrades Winner Leonid Shvetsov of Russia in 5:33:10 and third place Charles Tjiane in 5:34:21.

The team from congratulates Stephen Muzhingi for breaking Russian domination of the men’s race!

More coverage and a 2009 Comrades result overview will follow later today.